Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Theme for TIFR Centre For Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore


You are here: Home / Academic / Int PhD Programme / Grading Scheme

Grading Scheme

Grading Scheme and Interpretation

GradeGrade Points


O 10 Outstanding
A+ 9 Excellent
A 8 Very Good
B+ 7 Good
B 6 Above Average
C 5 Average
P 4 Pass
F 0 Fail
S NA Satisfactory [ST1]
US NA Unsatisfactory [ST2]

Class for MSc degree

CGPA 7.50 and above: First Class with Distinction

CGPA 6.00 to 7.49: First Class

GCPA 5.00 to 5.99:  Second Class

CGPA 4.00 to 4.99:  Pass

CGPA below 4.00:  Fail [ST3]

Calculation of Cumulative Grade Points Average

If a student has taken courses numbered as  , which have Credits respectively and the Grade Points are in these courses, then the Cumulative Grade Points Average (CGPA) is where the sum in both numerator and denominator includes all the courses completed. 

CGPA may be converted to percentage as [Percentage (%) = CGPA x 10].

Course Numbering

Courses are numbered in the format “ABC123.N” where ABC indicates the Subject Board offering the course, 123 is the course number, and N indicates the TIFR campus.

N 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 0

 [ST1]For courses that are not credited, per UGC nomenclature

 [ST2]For courses that are not credited  per UGC nomenclature

 [ST3]This scheme is standard for job applications etc all over India.  The 2nd decimal place for CGPA is per UGC.