Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Theme for TIFR Centre For Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore


You are here: Home / A Symposium on Luis Caffarelli's works

A Symposium on Luis Caffarelli's works

Luis Caffarelli is a luminary in the field of partial differential equations.  He was the recipient of Abel Prize in 2023. The idea of this week long symposium is to present a glimpse of Caffarelli's works in various subject areas  that he has pioneered. 

Click here to watch the recorded lectures

List of Speakers and Topics


1 Adimurthi De Giorgi-Nash-Moser Theorem, ABP maximum principle ( preliminary lectures).
2 Harsh Prasad
Compactness methods to prove Schauder and Calderon Zygmund estimates.
3 Agnid Banerjee Krylov-Safonov and Evans-Krylov  Theorem (preliminaries), Boundary harnack inequality, Classical Obstacle problem, thin obstacle problem and Monge Ampere equation.
4 Ali Hyder Caffarelli-Kohn-Nirenberg theorem on partial regularity result for Navier Stokes.
5 Debabrata Karmakar
 Optimal transport theory.
6 Koushik Ramachandran
The work of Caffarelli and Spruck on convexity of super level sets of solutions to some elliptic equations.
7 Kunnath Sandeep The work of Caffarelli, Gidas and Spruck on symmetry of entire solutions to some critical exponent problems.
8 P N Srikanth Plane-like solutions to periodic minimal surface equation.
Harish Shrivastava
The works of Alt-Caffarelli-Friedman on one and two phase type problems.
Jim Thomas
Derivation of Incompressible Navier Stokes from continuum mechanics (preliminary lecture)


5th June 2023 to 9th June, 2023.


TimeMon, Jun 5TimeTue, Jun 6Wed, Jun7Thu, Jun 8Fri, Jun 9
09:00 - 10:30 am Adimurthi 09:00 - 10:00 am Harsh Sandeep Ali Agnid
10:30 - 11:00 am Tea Break 10:00 - 11:00 am Koushik Sandeep Debabrata Debabrata
11:00 - 12:30 pm Agnid 11:00 - 11:30 am Tea Break
12:30 - 02:00 pm Lunch 11:30 - 12:30 pm Agnid Agnid Agnid Agnid
02:00 - 03:30 pm Adimurthi 12:30 - 02:00 pm Lunch
03:30 - 04:00 pm Tea Break 02:00 - 03:00 pm Debabrata Harish Harsh Srikanth
04:00 - 05:30 pm Agnid 03:00 - 03:30 pm Tea Break
05:30 - 06:30 pm Jim 03:30 - 04:30 pm Ali Debabrata Ali Harish
04:30 - 05:30 pm Agnid Agnid Agnid Agnid



The audience should be familiar with basics of Sobolev spaces and basic $L^{2}$ theory for elliptic equations.


Who can apply

This symposium is targeted at PhD students and Post doctoral Fellows in India working on elliptic PDE's. Highly motivated Master students can also apply. Please send your resume by May 15, 2023 at


All selected outstation participants will be paid III AC return train fare from their place of study/work to Bangalore. Boarding and lodging in accommodations in the hostel will be provided to outstation participants for the period of the workshop.

Organizing committee


Participants List

Following candidates has been selected for the symposium:

1 Alok Kumar Sahoo
2 Anirban Dutta
3 Anusree R
4 Arindam Mandal
5 Aritra Chatterjee
6 Arnab Pal
7 Deepak Kumar Mahanta
8 Dev Ranjan Pandey
9 Diksha Gupta
10 Jiya Rose Johnson
11 Lovlesh Sharma
12 Mitesh Modasiya
13 Mohith Raju
14 Mrityunjoy Ghosh
15 N N Dattatreya
16 Nidhi Nidhi
17 Priyank Oza
18 Rajesh Kumar Singh
19 Ritabrata Jana
20 Rohit Kumar
21 Saikat Maji
22 Sanjit Biswas
23 Sarbani Pramanik
24 Saumyajit Das
25 Shammi Malhotra
26 Shilpa Gupta
27 Sivaram P.
28 Souptik Chakraborty
29 Stuti Das
30 Subhajit Roy
31 T. Renjith
32 Vivek Sahu
Filed under: