Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Theme for TIFR Centre For Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore


You are here: Home / NPDE2017

Recent developments in Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations and Applications

Venue : TIFR CAM, Bangalore, India

Dates : 1st - 4th November 2017

TIFR CAM Front Name   TIFR CAM Interior

The theory of non-linear  partial differential equations (PDEs) both stationary and evolutionary  are of fundamental importance in mathematical analysis and through recent breakthroughs and insights, it has reached a stage where some difficult and important questions can be fruitfully addressed. This conference  will focus on a large class of singular and degenerate PDEs ranging from flows by mean curvature to the infinity Laplacian. Although these equations have a common structure, they are connected to many different applications such as the diffusion in highly non-homogeneous media. A crucial role in understanding non-linear phenomena is played by regularity estimates based only on the structure of the equations. In several ways the recent advances open up a whole new area of research similar to the progress that started a few decades ago concerning regularity and free boundary problems for linear PDEs. The new methods have already turned out to be powerful enough to solve previously unreachable problems. Therefore, the purpose of this conference is to bring leading experts from all around the world to give  a constructive and inspiring reflection on the state of the literature surrounding such equations which will boost some further research  in this and related areas.  

This conference will be preceded by a month long lecture series  at TIFR CAM by Prof. John Lewis from University of Kentucky who is one of the leading experts  in the area of  regularity  and potential theory for degenerate  elliptic and parabolic equations.

Scientific committee


Local Organizing Committee




Download talks abstract

1st Nov. 09:20-9:30 - Opening Remarks by the Dean G D V Gowda
2nd Nov. 7:00pm onwards : Conference dinner at TIFR CAM
Wed, 1st Nov, 2017Thu, 2nd Nov, 2017Fri, 3rd Nov, 2017Sat, 4th Nov, 2017
Chair : Adimurthi Chair : K T Joseph Chair : Juha Kinnunen Chair: B. Kawohl
09:30 - 10:20 John Lewis (University of Kentucky, USA) Cherif Amrouche ( University of Pau, France) Bernd Kawohl ( University of Cologne, Germany) Imran Biswas ( TIFR CAM, India)
10:30 - 11:20 Lucio Boccardo (University of Rome, Italy) Ugo Gianazza ( University of Pavia, Italy) Jose Miguel Urbano ( University of Coimbra, Portugal) Erika Maringova ( Charles University, Czech Republic)
11:20 - 11:45Tea breakTea BreakTea BreakTea Break
11:45 - 12:35 Juha Kinnunen (Aalto University, Finland) Agnid Banerjee (TIFR CAM, India) T V Anoop ( IIT Madras )

Sun-Sig Byun ( Seoul National University, Korea)

Concluding Remarks by PN Srikanth.

12:35 - 14:00LunchLunchLunchLunch 12:50 onwards
Chair : John Lewis Chair: Jyotsna Prajapat



City Tour


14:00 - 14:50 S. Prashanth (TIFR CAM, India) Verena Bogelein ( University of Salzburg, Austria)
15:00 - 15:30Tea BreakTea Break
15:30 - 16:20 M. Bulicek (Charles University, Czech Republic) Karthik Adimurthi ( Seoul National University, Korea)


Selected participants


Dr. Bhakti Bhusan Manna, IIT Hyderabad

E-mail :

Dr. Prosenjit Roy,  IIT Delhi

E-mail :

Ms. Divya Goel, IIT Delhi

E-mail :

Dr. Rajib Haloi

Tezpur University, ASSAM


Ms. Debangana Mukherjee


E-mail :

Mr. Ram Manohar

Deptt. of Mathematics, IIT Guwahati

E-mail :

Ms. Erika Maringova

E-mail :

Mr. Ratan Kumar giri

NIT Rourkela


Mr. Indubaran Mandal
IIT Kanpur

E-mail :

Dr. Sarika Goyal

Bennett University

E-mail :

Prof. Jyotshana V. Prajapat

Department of Mathematics, University of Mumbai.

E-mail :

Prof. Saugata Bandyopadhyay

IISER Kolkata

E-mail :

Ms. Madhu Gupta

IIT Gandhinagar

E-mail :

Mr. Shantiram Mahata
Deptt. of Mathematics, IIT Guwahati

E-mail :

Dr. Mousomi Bhakta


E-mail :

Ms. Tuhina Mukherjee

IIT Delhi

E-mail :


Invited speakers


1. Prof. C. Amrouche ( University of Pau, France) 13. Prof. Juha Kinnunen ( Aalto University, Finland)
2. Prof. L. Boccardo ( University of Rome, Italy) 14. Prof. John Lewis ( University of Kentucky, USA)
3. Prof. S. Byun ( Seoul National University, Korea) 15. Prof. Peter Lindqvist (NTNU, Norway)
4. Prof. Imran Biswas (TIFR CAM, India) 16. Prof. Kaj Nystrom ( Uppsala University, Sweden)
5. Prof. M. Bulicek (Charles University, Czech Republic) 17. Prof. S. Prashanth ( TIFR CAM, India)
6. Prof. Alberto Farina ( LAMFA, Italy) * 18. Prof. Patrizia Pucci ( University of Perugia, Italy)
7. Prof. Fausto Ferrari ( University of Bologna, Italy) 19. Prof. Yannick Sire (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
8. Prof. Nicola Garofalo ( University of Padova, Italy)* 20. Prof. José Miguel Urbano (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
9. Prof. Ugo Gianazza ( University of Pavia, Italy) 21. Prof. E. Valdinoci ( University of Melbourne, Australia)
10. Prof. J. Giacomoni ( University of Pau, France) 22. Prof. TV Anoop ( IIT Madras, India)
11. Prof. Bernd Kawohl ( University of Cologne, Germany) 23. Prof. K. Sreenadh ( IIT Delhi, India)
12.Prof. Verena Bögelein ( University of Salzburg, Austria ) 24.Prof. Sebastian Schwarzacher ( University of Prague)*

( * Yet to confirm )


Who can Apply ?

Faculty, post doctoral fellow and PhD students working on elliptic and parabolic PDE are encouraged to apply.

How to Apply ?

Last date to apply is over.

Applicants are requested to send their resume at  We would  admit up to 20 participants.