Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Theme for TIFR Centre For Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore


You are here: Home / Events / The Nobel Prizes in Science(2017) An Appreciation

The Nobel Prizes in Science(2017) An Appreciation

Dr. ST Lakshmikumar NPL, New Delhi
Dr. ST Lakshmikumar NPL, New Delhi
When Feb 12, 2018
from 04:00 PM to 05:00 PM
Where LH 006
Add event to calendar vCal

Abstract: Rainer Weis, Barry C. Barish and KipS. Thorne won the Nobel Prize in physics this year "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves", Jacques Dubochet, Joachimm Frank and Richard Henderson received the Nobel Prize in chemistry "for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution" and Jeffrey C. Hal, Michael Rosbash and Michael W.Young were awarded the Nobel Prize in medicine "for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm". The goal of the lecture is to create an awareness of the intellectual accomplishments that culminated in the great honor. In each case, the work cited for the award is explained in the context of the earlier achievements, how the work could lead influence the future intellectually as well as potential utility. The presentation will be targeted at science students and researchers with a basic understanding of science.

Filed under: