Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Theme for TIFR Centre For Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore


You are here: Home / Events / The Nobel Prizes in Science (2016) An Appreciation

The Nobel Prizes in Science (2016) An Appreciation

S T Lakshmikumar, Chief Scientist,NPL Delhi (Rtd.)
S T Lakshmikumar, Chief Scientist,NPL Delhi (Rtd.)
When Nov 08, 2016
from 04:00 PM to 05:00 PM
Where LH 006
Add event to calendar vCal

Abstract:  David J. Thouless, F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz have been awarded the prize in physics  for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter. Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa shared the award for chemistry for the design and synthesis of molecular machines and Yoshinori Ohsumi is the winner of the prize in medicine or physiology for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy. The goal of the lecture is to create an awareness of the intellectual accomplishments that culminated in the great honor. In each case, the work cited for the award is explained in the context of the earlier achievements, how the work could lead influence the future intellectually as well as potential utility. The presentation will be targeted at science students and researchers with a basic understanding of science.

Filed under: